Went for a walk and did not get shot.

sidebyside

Surely, there are places where taking an afternoon walk could get you shot.  However, that is not the case here.  This is a small, sleepy New England town, the “Gateway” to oblivion, in the midst of cranberry country.  We cling to the Victorian ethic, tooth and nail.  Yet, Saturday I took a walk and almost got shot.

I live on the main street of town.  The pharmacy is a five minute walk from here.  With a sinus headache from hell I headed for relief.  The sun was brilliant, spotlighting the turning foliage.  A cool breeze coming in off the inlet; made for a spectacular autumn afternoon.  Just walking made my head feel better.  As my lungs opened to the soothing warmth of the air, my sinuses followed.

Off to the left is a street leading upward, out of town; toward city living.  There were a few cars backed up, as I walked by.  I could see a police car, up the hill; facing in the wrong direction, on the wrong side of the street.  Figuring something was going on, up there, I continued on my way.

I’m 55 years old; 5’5” and weigh 150lbs. (hummm, that’s a lot of 5s!)  I was wearing jeans and an oversized Pink Floyd hoodie.  My shoulder length, blonde hair was in a pony tail.

Just as I entered the parking lot to the strip mall a cop car pulled in; breaks screeching.  He swung in front of me and damn near hit me.  I stepped backward as he jumped out of his car WITH HIS GUN DRAWN!  He was saying something about around the corner.  I was trying not to scream.  When he got a good view of me, a look of disappointment came over his face; as he holstered his weapon.  I said, “I wasn’t up there and didn’t see anything.”

Getting back into the cruiser, Officer Jumpsky radioed in that “It wasn’t a kid.”

As he drove away I wondered ‘what if I were a kid?’  Would he have shot me?  Would I now be in the back of that cruiser; on the way to unjust harassment?

 Jumpsky loudly displayed the “good cop” personality.  Confident, strong and clear, he was definitely “in control”.  And really, we know that’s all about the inner bully.  Coming from a chaotic place where what is seen must be so perfect there’s no chance of questioning what is not seen.  Aggressive vigilance brings imaginary safety and the greater good.  Right?

In my head,  Buffalo Springfield was singing,  There’s something happenin’  here, what it is ain’t exactly clear. . . .there’s a man with a gun over there. . . tellin’ me I got to beware. . .it’s time we stop, hey, what’s that sound. . . everybody look what going down.

What is going on here?  We know desperate people do desperate things in desperate times.  These are desperate times.  Is robbery on the rise; due to the rotten economy?  Is law enforcement pissed because it’s impossible to arrest or prosecute for marijuana possession, anymore?  Is Controlianity on the rise?

This feeling of social tension is familiar; something I’ve experienced before.  It reminds me of  Nixon, Kent State, Lt Calley, SDS, and a plethora of bleary eyed dreamers.  Let’s not get stoned and miss the revolution, this time.  Let’s speak our minds, even when our voices shake.  Let’s wake the fuck up.

~ by francleablunt on October 28, 2009.

2 Responses to “Went for a walk and did not get shot.”

  1. Al I can say is Amen. It is time kick ass in a good way.

  2. “it’s time we stop, hey, what’s that sound. . . everybody look what going down”

    Who is listening?
    Where did our generation go? The peace activists and flower children?

Leave a Reply

 
