did you stop

when you saw me

on the corner in front of the bodega

selling nickel bags

did you recognize

my dreams

when you saw me

running from my momma screaming

she’s hurting my brother

did you recognize

my spark

when you saw me

torn and dirty

puking on the sidewalk

did you recognize

my dignity

did you stop to greet me

as if you’d reach deep within yourself

and touch the cable

that runs through me

into you

when you saw me

up against the wall

choking back tears

did you recognize

my determination

as i became your mirror

when you saw me

did you recognize

my creator

did you stop

~ by francleablunt on November 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
