unspoken

did you realize

you will not hear me

puttering around the kitchen

in the wee hours

preparing the day for you

you will not hear me

sing with cyndi and shaggy

as i did in the garden

planting tomorrows bounty

you will not hear me

breathing beside you

comfortably home

finally resting

 

did you realize

you will not smell me

performing kitchen magic

with little and nothing

to delight your palate

you will not smell me

perspiring excitedly

beneath your touch

drumming to your beat

you will not smell me

submerged in a steamy tub

full of herbs and minerals

waiting for the scrub brush

you will not smell me

on your moustache

as you lick your lips

savoring linda pie

 

did you realize

you will not see me

stretching outside myself

to gather possibilities

of seemless tomorrows

for us to play with

you will not see me

knitting a monsterpiece

to cradle our dreams

in comforting warmth

you will not see me

dancing through the darkness

foot stomping into tomorrow

shaking off fear

you will not see me

painting rainbows in the kitchen

on a wintery morning

to brighten your day

 

did you realize

you will not touch me

sweaty skin to sweaty skin

becoming fluid together

as we are meant to

you will not touch me

with sarcastic daggers

designed to dismiss my dignity

and strengthen your ego

you will not touch these tears

racing down my face

drowning yesterday’s sorrow

 

did you realize

my words will be forever

on the tip of your tongue

unspoken

 

~ by francleablunt on December 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
