I planted some seeds, today.

I planted some seeds, today.  Please help me intend their growth.  These are very old (nearly 100 yrs) and dear seeds.  My Grandpa Contesse carried them in his suitcase across the Atlantic; from the “Old Country”.  My Great-Grandmother, Elise, handed her 12 year old son, Henri, a bouquet of Edelweiss, from her kitchen garden; to insure her men safe passage to New York, in 1914.  As my Grandpa, his 14 year old brother, Edmund and their Father, Edmund, boarded the Ocean Liner, the prophetic Henri did not break his mother’s stare.  He always wondered if she, also, knew they would never see each other, again.

Marcel, who was 10, remained in Switzerland, to help keep the family restaurant open.

 

In loving memory of my Great Grandmother, Elise Contesse, I plant these seed to protect all my relations; insuring safe passage in all their adventures. . . . . . . .

  blossom and grow, may you bloom and grow, bloom and grow forever

 

In loving memory of my GRANDPA Henri “Rique” Contesse, I plant these seeds to protect all my relations; insuring safe passage in all their adventures. . . . . . .

  blossom and grow, may you bloom and grow, bloom and grow forever

 

In loving memory of my Great Grandfather, Edmund Contesse, I plant these seed to protect all my relations; insuring safe passage in all their adventures. . . . . . . .

  blossom and grow, may you bloom and grow, bloom and grow forever

 

In loving memory of my Great Uncles, Edmund and Marcel Contesse, I plant these seed to protect all my relations; insuring safe passage in all their adventures. . . . . . . .

  blossom and grow, may you bloom and grow, bloom and grow forever

 

My Grandpa Contesse once told me, “I did get to see my Mother, again; every time I looked at your Mother.”  Just as I see my Mother, now, every time I look at my children; and their children.

 

I could have dates wrong, but, they are close.  The material to confirm is not in my immediate reach.  I will, however, do so, soon.  Not that Grandpa would care, too much.  After-all, he messed up things, too.  And, he forgave me, everything.  When Grandma passed away he had a headstone carved for the two of them, as they planned to share the same plot.  Somehow their birth years got reversed!

 

 

 

 

~ by francleablunt on December 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
